The East 

Unknown, untouched steppe...
   

 The green ocean...

The East is the ancestral homeland of Genghis Khan. Born in northeastern Mongolia. From there, he went out to build one of the largest empires of the world. The East is also the unknown east. Barely reported in the literature, rarely traveled, it nonetheless holds some of what is worth seeing.

The unique combination of dry steppe and large lakes landscapes make this region the most biologically interesting areas in Mongolia. Impressive giant antelopes and gazelles herds that roam freely on the endless grassland, the herds are also the same food for the wolves and other predators.

 

 Unused Landscapes...

he landscape is populated by even fewer people than the rest of Mongolia. Only very sporadically you can find here yurts and the farther you advance to the East, the rarer they are. For people in the yurts are all the more warm and genuine. Hardly a tourist gets lost sometimes in this vastness. Once you enter one of the only times yurts, you will be discharged very difficult again, much there is to talk about and to marvel. The drivers exchange news, which spread in spite of modern technology only slowly.

Quite the east extends the last intact high steppe. Vertical landscape elements are completely absent up to 200 km extends this Steppe in diameter. The gentle waves of green spring grass is her indicator. Very few settlements can find here. Boundless landscape is everywhere.

 

 Religion is lived...

Particularly interesting is the region around the Schilijn Bogd Uul, an extinct volcano. The forecast there is said to have sworn by honorable men to steal from the rich to help the poor; Robin Hood in Mongolian. Not far away, the largest ovoo (holy place of worship and also simultaneously landmark) is located in eastern Mongolia. "Altan Ovoo" (Golden Ovoo). Every three years, wakes this place of worship to live and they celebrate the same festival at which only the men are allowed to climb the ovoo there.
 

 Decision in the steppe...

Another side of the East is the fact that many of the settlements have their origin in the military operations of World War II. The Battle of Khalkhin Gol was an important preliminary decisions for the Second World War. In the desert the Mongolian steppe of General Schukow destroyed large parts of the Japanese arms and has therefore ensured that Russia has clear your "back" and was able to use his powers for the European front. Just to the east, one meets today still on artifacts that battle.

Der Osten  

Unbekannte, unberührte Steppe...
   

 Das grüne Meer...

Der Osten, ist das Stammland von Dshingges Khan. Geboren im Nordosten der Mongolei. Von dort zog er aus, um eines der größten Weltreiche der Erde aufzubauen. Der Osten ist auch der Unbekannte Osten. Kaum beschrieben in der Literatur, selten befahren, birgt er doch einiges, was sehenswert ist.

Die einzigartige Kombination aus Trockensteppe und großen Seenlandschaften machen diese Region zu den biologisch interessanten Gebieten in der Mongolei. Beeindruckend die riesigen Antilopen- und Gazellenherden, die frei über die endlose Grassteppe ziehen, die Herden sind auch gleichzeitig Nahrungsgrundlage für die Wölfe und andere Raubtiere.

 

 Unverbrauchte Landschaften...

Die Landschaft wird von noch weniger Menschen besiedelt, als der Rest der Mongolei. Nur sehr vereinzelt trifft man hier auf Jurten und je weiter man in den Osten vordringt, umso seltener werden sie. Dafür werden die Menschen in den Jurten umso herzlicher und unverfälschter. Kaum ein Tourist verirrt sich mal in diese endlose Weite. Hat man erst mal eine der Jurten betreten, wird man nur sehr schwer wieder entlassen, den vieles gibt es zu bereden und zu bestaunen. Die Fahrer tauschen Neuigkeiten aus, die sich trotz moderner Technik hier nur langsam verbreiten.

Ganz im Osten erstreckt sich die letzte noch intakte Hochsteppe. Vertikale Landschaftselemente fehlen völlig bis zu 200 KM erstreckt sich diese Steppe im Durchmesser. Das sanfte wogen des grünen Federgrases ist ihr Kennzeichen. Nur sehr wenige Siedlungen kann  man hier antreffen. Grenzenlose Landschaft ist überall.

 

 Glauben wird gelebt...

Besonders interessant ist die Region um den Schilijn Bogd Uul, einem erloschenem Vulkan. Dort sollen sich der Sage nach ehrbare Männer geschworen haben, die Reichen zugunsten der Armen zu bestehlen; Robin Hood auf Mongolisch. Nicht weit davon, befindet sich der größte Owoo (heilige Kultstätte und auch gleichzeitig Landmarke) im Osten der Mongolei. „Altan owoo“ (goldener Owoo). Alle drei Jahre erwacht diese Kultstätte zu leben und man feiert dort das gleichnamige Fest, an dem nur die Männer auf den Owoo steigen dürfen.
 

 Entscheidung in der Steppe...

Eine andere Seite des Ostens ist die Tatsache, dass viele der Siedlungen ihren Ursprung in den Kriegshandlungen des zweiten Weltkrieges haben. Die Schlacht am Chalchyn Gol war eine mit wichtigsten Vorentscheidungen im Zweiten Weltkrieg. In der Einöde der mongolischen Steppe vernichtet der General Schukow große Teile der japanischen Arme und hat somit dafür gesorgt, dass Russland den „Rücken“ freibekommen hat und seine Kräfte für die europäische Front einsetzen konnte. Gerade im Osten, trifft man heute immer noch auf Artefakte dieser Schlacht.